We Bought A New Camera!

19 Apr

Eeehaaa!!

Finally, we have bought a new camera! Since we knew we couldn’t get a brilliant dream camera, we were happy to get anything that was an upgrade on our old one, which for an 8 year old point and shoot wasn’t bad at all. When I bought it, it was cutting edge, 5mpx was fantastic, and we were happy with it as long as it lasted. (it was a Sony Cybershot)

Today R was out and about and he bought a Canon SX130IS it is 12.1 mpx has a 12x optical zoom and you can set it to take a photo when it recognizes a smile… that’s a bit over the top as far as I am concerned, since I can still recognize a smile myself!

Anyway, It seems quite good for a point and shoot in its price range. I have taken a few pics with it, and am quite happy with the results. I am sure once I read the booklet and learn a bit more about it, it will do us great.

There are two things about it which really bother me though; one is that it doesn’t seem very sturdy. It’s a bit plasticy and you need to flip up the flash for it to work. Its not that flipping up the flash is difficult, but having a hinge on a camera is just having one more thing that can break.

Another thing I really really do not like is that it has regular AA batteries. It doesn’t even come with rechargeable ones. I think that is terrible, both environmentally and generally. How long can regular AA batteries last with a flash going all the time?

Of course we will purchase rechargeable batteries, ASAP, but I am still unhappy with this.

In any case, it is certainly much better than borrowing cameras or using the one in my cell phone, which is not state of the art, as you might have noticed.

Anyway, here is its test run photos, mind you, I have not edited these at all, and I usually do, just a little bit.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Does anyone know this camera more intimately? Any advice?

4 Responses to “We Bought A New Camera!”

  1. Big Daddy April 20, 2012 at 9:16 am #

    Good shooting, baby! I think you are wrong about the batteries. As long as the rechargeables work they are a much better idea. You can carry spares, you don’t have to worry about the battery losing its capacity. There is an if. Rechargeables have a lower voltage than the regular one-timers and it might not be sufficient. I have some things that do not work on rechargeables.

    • Ruth April 20, 2012 at 9:30 am #

      Maybe you are right. R took some video yesterday, maybe a couple of minutes worth, and that really did the batteries in. We might need more than one set of spare batteries….

  2. Julie @ Outtakes on the Outskirts April 21, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

    My old camera used rechargable AA batteries and I had a lot of success with them. I always carried a spare set just in case, but I rarely needed it. Congrats on your new camera!

    • Ruth April 21, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

      That’s nice to hear, Julie. I have been obsessing over it. Maybe I can stop now 🙂

Please comment and let me know what you think

