Solar cooking – How cool is that?

8 Apr


After (or maybe before) we figure out how to make beer at home, we really need to give this ago. If the insane level of gas and electric prices isn’t an incentive, I don’t know what is -)
via art for housewives

6 Responses to “Solar cooking – How cool is that?”

  1. Julie @ Outtakes on the Outskirts April 9, 2012 at 1:16 am #

    Love this idea. It would be wonderful to have one of these ovens on a hot summer day. Just let the weather do the work!

    • Ruth April 9, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

      I am going to look into how to make one. I am sure some cardboard and aluminum foil could do the trick as a trial oven. I could then splurge and spend all the money I save this way on something really important like a great new camera! LOL

      • Julie @ Outtakes on the Outskirts April 9, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

        I’ve spent a good part of my day looking at plans too! I have several boxes hanging around that I could fashion into an oven. I’ve been jabbering about it all day to my husband. I think he thinks I’ve gone crazy.

      • Ruth April 10, 2012 at 6:27 am #

        Wow, you are much faster than me! I was thinking that the cart I am using as a seeding post in my garden, where I have all or most of my seedlings would be a perfect stand since it could be turned and pushed to follow the sun. That is about as far as I’ve gotten.

      • Ruth April 10, 2012 at 9:08 am #

        Julie – I just found this link http://solarcooking.org/plans/plans.pdf
        Its a treasure trove!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Solar Oven Project – Part One | Outtakes on the Outskirts - April 18, 2012

    […] is my (hopefully) three-part series on my solar oven experience. I was inspired by UpcyclingRuth’s blog post to attempt this project. I’m trying it more out of curiosity than anything, but if I can […]

Please comment and let me know what you think

