My 2012 2Do List

9 Jan

photo credit creative commons license Vizzzual.com

I have been busy with this blog and the project behind it for about 6 weeks now, and the passion I started out with has turned into confusion. Confusion is not the most accurate word for what I am feeling. Lost is more like it. Things are taking such a long time. Techniques  I though were relatively straightforward, like paper mache, are in fact quite complicated, if you want to get  good results. Learning them properly, through making mistakes and trying different things can be a lengthily process that is not necessarily particularly interesting for the by-stander. The bystander is not the only one with a problem with this. Along with the things that have a long process to them, I would like to be making quick, light, fun stuff – transformation of objects that need less of a technical skill than the ability to see things differently and redesign them to fit their new designation.

I decided to make a list of thing that I need and want around the house, and within the next year, I will try to make as many of them as possible. The list is quite varied, and so will the work be. All the while, in the background, I will continue to investigate techniques that are more painstaking to learn.

 My list (drumrollllll)

1. Hooks and hangers:

 Coat hangers for guest

 Coat hooks for the laundry room (It’s a bit like hold all room)

Towel rack/hooks for the master bathroom

Hooks in the kids play room.

 2. Light fittings for the entire house. That would make it about 20 since we have some        rooms with more than one.

 3.   Shelving for my tiny, tiny studio.

 4.   Refurnish Study.

 5.   Garden furniture.

 6.   Garden gate.

 7.   Coffee table/s.

 8.   Carpet for the living room.

 9.   Carpet for the hall.

 10. Carpet for the kids room.

 11.  Art :-).

 12.   Storage containers/baskets for the studio.

 13.   Storage container/baskets for the living room.

14.    Lost socks contraption/basket.

 15.   Bed for our daughter (I found a fantastic bed, or part of a bed on the pavement   I need to make the rest of it and of course make it ours!)

16.   Make the toddler’s bed into a day couch for the play room.

17.   Stencil wall in master bedroom. ( I know that this isn’t strictly connected, but I  have been looking for an excuse to stencil for a while now).

18.    New dinning table (I would love to upcycle our wooden fence from the back yard, which I hate, into a dining table. Ambitious, I know).

 I will be back to this list, to cross out items that I get done. I would love to finish them all in the coming year, but am not holding my breath.  If nothing else, this will keep me focused.

3 Responses to “My 2012 2Do List”

  1. Julie @ Outtakes on the Outskirts January 11, 2012 at 12:28 am #

    That’s a really ambitious list. Good luck! 🙂

  2. destructivetesting January 12, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

    Hi Ruth, You are ambitious! I love all the recycling thoughts. And, yeah, the ‘technical’ details are a drag. At least with the limited range of what I do, once I come up with a ‘solution’ to one technical detail, I can use that over and over again. The learning curve for so many different projects is daunting.

    But someone else has done it, and probably posted info on it somewhere. Probably a good idea to look for their ‘solution’ before doing it all on your own. I know that when I came up with the idea to make french toast on my waffle iron so that the butter and syrup wouldn’t run off, I thought it was my invention. But when I googled it, I got thousands of hits. It seems like I was the last one to think of that!

    good luck, I look forward to seeing what you come up with.

    And, ask for ideas about some of these projects.

    Mike

  3. Ruth January 12, 2012 at 6:06 pm #

    Hi Mike – I know what you mean…. after I got frustrated with the papermache I found some fantastic sites, and am learning through trial and error. The internet is a fantastic source of knowledge and I am lapping it up!
    Thanks for commenting. I am looking forward to seeing what you come up with too.

Please comment and let me know what you think

