How To Crochet a Basket Out Of Plastic Bags

7 Dec

As I said in my last post, I spent the last few days crocheting.

zoom

I always love knitting and crochet, but in the last couple of decades, except for crocheting in silver thread, I have not done any at all.

Being a goldsmith took all my creative resources and there was nothing left for other creativity or art.

I had not intended to crochet the plastic bags. I thought I would work in a similar fashion to the way I had worked with the t-shirts, but since I wanted to try something else, and since my fingers were still punctured from the fabric basket, I decided to turn to something a bit more pleasant and familiar.

I know that I am a bit late joining this party and that many good people have been here before (Just a little spin on youtube was enough to make sure of that fact). In a way, it is a good thing. I don’t have to invent the wheel again, and I can learn from others what others have done.

So how, you might be asking do you make plastic bags into yarn?

What surprised me was the amount of bags I needed. Most of us at least here in Israel, live with the feeling that the cupboard under the sink is about to explode with the excess of plastic bags.  Even though most of the time I use reusable shopping bags, I also find that I have endless amounts of plastic bags under my sink, but it turns out, that when you need them, you don’t have enough.

I cut strips and more strips, and rolled balls and more balls, but I still had to stop crocheting a couple of times to make some more.

There is no argument about how harmful these bags are to the environment, but one thing is for sure – whoever engineered these bags did a darned good job of planning them with a bare minimum of material.

This time too, I wanted to make some sort of container, and found this basket after searching for free crochet patterns.

You can adjust this pattern for different sizes of square containers, and this is probably not the last of these I will be crocheting.

Crocheting in plastic bags is a lot less pleasant than crocheting with wool or cotton, but the result is a lot more pleasant than I expected. Of course, returning to crochet aroused my appetite for more, and a longing for cotton…. More about that in my next post.

3 Responses to “How To Crochet a Basket Out Of Plastic Bags”

  1. Julie @ Outtakes on the Outskirts January 14, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

    I’m getting ready to teach myself how to crochet so I can make a bag out of plastic bags. I’m glad I found your tutorial on how to make plarn first!

    • Ruth January 15, 2012 at 8:51 am #

      Make sure you stock up on plenty of bags. I don’t know How many bags I have in one basket, but I wouldn’t be surprised if its over 70….!

      • Julie @ Outtakes on the Outskirts January 15, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

        Wow! I’ve cut up 30 bags so far to crochet the pattern I found for a bag. I’ve got plenty more on hand if needed. It’s hard to imagine that these projects would use so many!

Please comment and let me know what you think

