Stammering Prologue

27 Nov

I am not sure how to call what I doing here. Re-education? A quest in search of the new me? It is all so new, but the whole point is that everything here is old.

I guest the easiest way to define it would be to say that I am trying to rediscover creative joy, and the wealth of materials even if the materials are not “rich” in the formal sense of the word.

Two forces are behind this journey, and I am not sure which of them is the main motivation. The first, which could also be called the-kick-in-the-butt, is the force that motivates me into action from an urgent and existential point of view is the need to find a way to a new livelihood. How do I take myself, along with all of my skills, talents abilities and things that I love and turn them into a livelihood?

The second is my love of used objects, the lives they have lived and the lives they have accompanied. In the past few years, my love of old objects has been given further legitimization in the form of environmentalism, and like many others, I am trying to live a greener life. I wear second hand not only for financial reasons, but out of appreciation for the value of the material and the work invested – values that have become obsolete in our society.

Disposable. A synonym to just about every object we use. Objects have become worthless to us, and yet we continue to accumulate and acquire more and more of them.  As a result, the substance that these objects are made of has become of even lesser value than the objects themselves.

At one point, things used to mutate. If a sweater was to small, it was pulled out and  a new, more suitable garment was knit. Not today. Today we throw it into the trash and run off to the nearest store.

For the next year, I will be studying recycling, re-purposing reusing and up-cycling, and although I know where this journey starts, I have no Idea where it will end. One thing is for sure it will undoubtedly pass by a few old t-shirts and piles and piles of newspapers.

 

4 Responses to “Stammering Prologue”

  1. SabbaAbba December 1, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    Finally found the Stammering Prologue. My first iression is you’re too fluent; you’ll have to learn stammering.

    What ever the hook, the Blogalogue gives a good idea of what you intend to blog and wht we can expect to read and see n the blog. Speaking for myself, I hope that in the course of time I will get know what “upcycle” means and what distinguishes up from re.

    • upcyclingruth December 2, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

      Upcycle as opposed to recycle means to recycle something into something even better than it was to begin with. Improve on it, if you will.

  2. aboutGoodness December 8, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    You have great ideas for your journey of recycling. I look forward to see how it unfolds for you 🙂
    Laura

    • upcyclingruth December 8, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

      Thank you Laura, and thanks for commenting 🙂

Please comment and let me know what you think

